NEW SIGNING!!: Iggy Azalea Signs to Def Jam

Iggy-Azalea-Acclaim-Magazine-01

This is big news people!  Iggy Azalea has announced her newly inked deal with Island Def Jam Records. The Australian rapper took to the bible of all bibles, Twitter to announce the move.

Iggy was originally signing a deal with Interscope Records, however this deal fell through back in 2012, so she continued to work through rapper T.I.’s label Hustle Gang, with which she released her EP “Glory”, which included the track “Murda Bizness”.

The contract with Hustle Gang was not renewed and Iggy slowly parted from working with T.I’s label and her debut LP “The New Classic” no longer had T.I. as executive producer. The debut single “Work” was released through Mercury Records, a subsidiary of Island Def  Jam.

She made the announcement on Twitter, ensuring it was known that her and T.I were still speaking,

“Hey world. I signed to island def jam. Iam now mercury UK/ island def jam USA awesome!!!!,” she tweeted. “No. That doesn’t mean I’m no in hustle gang. Save it. Still in it. Still on the hustle gang album. Friendship doesn’t require contracts.”

“If this confuses you, you are welcome to read the press release on billboard later today.”

The press release claimed the following: ” I am elated to be a part of  the Island Def Jam family! After speaking in depth with David [Massey], Steve [Bartles] and Chris [Anokute], it became clear that Island Records was attuned to the type of artist I am. They are a great addition to my UK team, and I couldn’t have asked for a mor understanding and aspirational group of people to work with.”

Her debut LP “The New Classic” is due for release in 2013.

Leave a comment